Collaborative Group of Public Clean Energy Programs Approves 5.5 Kilowatt Turbine Eligible for Participation in State Incentive Programs

24 July 2013 

MONTPELIER, Vt. – Today, the Interstate Turbine Advisory Council (ITAC), a project of the Clean Energy States Alliance (CESA), added the Bergey Excel 6, a fully certified small wind turbine, to its Unified List of wind turbines.

The Excel 6, a 5.5 kW turbine, joins the Excel 10 and five other turbines on ITAC’s small wind turbine list; these turbines meet the ITAC listing requirements, a unique set of eligibility criteria that address the performance and reliability of turbines with a rotor swept area of less than 200m2 (meters squared). The list is used by ITAC-member clean energy programs across the United States, who have pooled resources to efficiently review and evaluate turbines.

The Bergey Excel 6 is a relatively new turbine to the Excel fleet, and there are 17 installations across the U.S. In 2011, a Bergey Excel 6 was commissioned at the Kennebec Valley Community College in Maine, providing electrical power to the college and serving as a teaching tool for students in the electrical technology program. The turbine has been operating quietly and efficiently since commissioning. In June, the Small Wind Certification Council awarded full certification to the U.S. small wind standard for the Bergey Excel 6. Certification to the standard ensures that the turbine has met performance and safety requirements. In addition to reviewing the certification documents, ITAC considered the technical, safety, warranty, and customer service practices of the company. The ITAC eligibility criteria developed for small wind turbine review will increase consumer confidence in wind technology, provide consistency to public clean energy programs, and ensure that tax- or ratepayer funding supports the installation of reliable and safe wind energy technology. The addition of the Excel 6 turbine to the ITAC Unified List will increase customers’ choices and adds an ideal turbine for smaller and efficient homes, farms, and small businesses to the list.

“We look forward to listing an additional turbine to fill the niche for smaller homes and businesses,” said Chris Dearth, Small Wind Program Manager at the Energy Trust of Oregon. “We’re pleased to see more turbines achieving full certification to the AWEA standard and have greater confidence in the performance and durability of these certified machines.”

Six clean energy programs across the United States use the ITAC Unified List: the Energy Trust of Oregon, the New York State Energy Research Development Authority (NYSERDA), the California Energy Commission, the Massachusetts Clean Energy Center, the New Jersey Clean Energy Program, and NV Energy. The List provides these programs with peer-reviewed, carefully-vetted turbines that have proven safety and reliability records and third-party acoustic and power performance reports.

Only ITAC-member programs may use the Unified List for incentive eligibility. Programs wishing to use the list should contact CESA to discuss membership.

To view the list of ITAC turbine requirements and the full list of qualified turbines, please visit ITAC’s web page

# # #

About Clean Energy States Alliance: Clean Energy States Alliance (CESA) is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing state and local efforts to implement smart clean energy policies, programs, technology innovation, and financing tools to drive increased investment and market making. CESA works with the leading state and public clean energy programs and provides information sharing and technical assistance to states and local governments on best-in-class clean energy programs and policies. CESA also facilitates collaborative networks to coordinate efforts between states, federal agencies, and other stakeholders to leverage accelerated progress on deploying clean energy projects and markets. For more information, visit


Val Stori
Project Director
Clean Energy Group/Clean Energy States Alliance
(802) 223.2554 ext. 211